Do I Track My Macros?

Sort of.

But before I get into my vague answer, it’s useful to know what tracking macros is. Tracking your macronutrient intake has become a very popular type of dieting in the fitness community. IIFYM (If It Fits Your Macros) is basically a guideline of eating where you can eat what you want as long as the amount of fat, protein, and carbohydrates fits your allotted daily total. So based on this definition, I technically do keep my macro count in mind each day.

For the most part, I have found that a higher-fat, lower-carb diet works for me. It keeps me lean and gives me enough energy to train hard at the gym. That’s why I like to make sure I’m keeping my daily carbohydrate intake below 100 grams as often as I can, and I really don’t care about how much fat I’m getting as long as it’s coming from good sources such as meats/fish, grass-fed butter/good oils, and avocados (unfortunately, at school I usually don’t end up getting a ton). I also make sure I’m not getting too much protein (potentially another article on this later). There are many different points of view as to what a good range of protein intake is, but I calculated mine based on having about 1-1.7 (in grams) times my bodyweight in kilograms. For me, this range calculates out to about 45-70 grams of protein a day – so I definitely don’t let myself eat a crazy amount. I don’t specifically count and keep track of how much of each macro I’m getting, but I do keep in mind how much I have eaten that day mostly to make sure I’m not going over on carbohydrates and protein.

So in that way, yes, I do “track” my macros, but DEFINITELY DEFINITELY NOT in the same way you see many people in Instagram do it. I am all about eating clean foods (as you will see Mike and I talk about all the time on this blog), so I make my meals fit my macro ranges. Many people who follow the IIFYM lifestyle have the mindset that eating things like chips and ice cream are totally fine as long as it fits their macros. They don’t make sure they are eating whole foods that also give them all their micronutrients, many people don’t look at how much sugar they are consuming, and they definitely don’t look for any chemical ingredients that are more likely than not in those foods.

It’s definitely important to find the ideal balance of macronutrients that your body runs the best on. But at the same time, it’s also extremely important to make sure what is going into your body is not only good for your physique, but your internal system as well.

Leave a Reply

